RheaZen

Rhea's Art

"Gtfo."

user posted image

"... hi."

==============

Burnt out on helping, I wanna do my own stuff!

==============

Need advice on spriting? I'm not an expert, but I'll help with pointers.

HEY PEOPLE IF YOU WANT YOUR STUFF TO BE FOR DRAGON REQUESTS PLEASE MAKE THAT CLEAR SO THAT I CAN GIVE THE CORRECT LEVEL OF CRITIQUE

Tip #1: Practice makes perfect.

Tip #2: You can whine, moan, and complain, but don't actually give up. Unless it's on something really small and nitpicky, in which case it's probably not a big deal.

Tip #1 example, lol:

user posted image

Helpful links:

Wing anatomy graphics #1 and #2.

Dragon skeleton.

Wyvern skeleton.

DC-related spriting links, but still helpful overall:

The Guide to Spriting in Dragon Requests.

The Ultimate Guide to the Dragon Requests Board. Contains Rules & FAQ.

The Completed List. (Great for finding examples and such of how to shade, texture, etc. Learn by looking!)

Other stuff I'm putting in here 'cause they're useful and it's a pain in the ass to keep looking for them:

Fur spriting tutorial

Edited by RheaZen

The head looks better than last time as it has more shape smile.gif

However, it's a bit large for the body still. For a good idea for proportions, take a look at the sunsong:

user posted image

You should also look at real-life animals. Since dragons are imaginary, we have to draw upon other things for anatomy.

user posted image

Currently, what you have might be okay for a young dragon, as babies tend to have larger heads in proportion to their body. If you want it to be an adult, you'll have to make the body larger. Also, I suggest leaving the belly scales out until you have the mail body finished.

Edited by RheaZen

The head looks better than last time as it has more shape smile.gif

However, it's a bit large for the body still. For a good idea for proportions, take a look at the sunsong:

snip