wonderwanders2

Anyone Else A Farmer?

Do you farm?  

12 members have voted

1. 1. What do you farm?

• Dirt and poo? Eww... Nope.
    • I only farm XP/$$ on games, if that counts.
    • Yes I've grown my own plants - fruits / veggies / etc.
    • Yes I've raised my own farm animals.

This poll is closed to new votes

• Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.
  • Poll closed on 03/22/2018 at 07:37 PM

Didn't see any discussions about this topic so thought I'd ask...

Any other farmers out there?

I don't mean pets.  I mean  actually growing your own food.  Urban farming or otherwise.

I'm an urban farmer. I have a small flock of chickens (for eggs), and we have a small grove of fruit trees (Orange, Grapefruit, Lychee, Mango, Avocado, Persimmon) and such on the property. We also have a community garden plot nearby - that's our experimental plot to see what grows in this region before we commit to building our own plot in the yard.  I have a few herbs in the yard but haven't tried much else. This is all within city limits, we have what would equate to 3 city lots.

We've sold fruit (pick your own) out of the yard.  I've never had enough eggs to sell them (Right now I only have one good laying hen.) - I should really turn the other hen into soup but I just don't have the heart for it. So she's the "guard chicken."

Yay! We farm a garden! I really want to get chickens this year, but alas it will have to be next year. Also, we have plans to start beekeeping. So probably next year I will start building hives. And we also have herbs growing around the property. I have some lavender, oregano, thyme, sage, rosemary, chocolate mint and lemon balm :) I love that they grow back each year. Unfortunately I have let the oregano bolt. I have found that the bees really love oregano flowers. We also have 2 orange trees.