olympe

Foiling Scripters

I recently had a discussion with another member which led to an idea how scripters *might* be thwarted. The thing is, I'm no coder and can't really tell if it works. Anyway, I think it's time to add more people to the discussion. Maybe it's harebrained, maybe it could work, I don't know.

The following excerpts from our PM conversation are quoted with the knowledge and full permission by _Sin_.

I'm no expert, but would it help if the egg description wasn't a plain text, but the a picture (containing said text with transparent background)? The "names" of the pics could easily be swapped regularly to keep scripters off balance.

As you might have guessed, I'm no expert and merely brainstorming here. Well, maybe more like grasping at straws.

Egg description in a picture could deter scripts for a bit (probably would be just another exciting challenge for a coder) but would create more issues to normal users. I do not know about you but every time I must read a captcha, I need to refresh a couple of times. Try suggesting that. I will get popcorn and wait for fuzzbucket smile.gif

I wasn't thinking of making the description-pics captcha-style - that wouldn't work at all! I was thinking of using a screenshot of the description (on scroll background, no less) instead of the written description.

Or wouldn't that work? I figured (maybe wrongly) that scripts use the coding of the site to determine what the egg description actually is, not read the actually visible description.

Oh I understand now. Wouldn't people with vision problems have an issue with that? From TJ's point of view, that would have impact, bandwidth wise, due to the size of the image/screenshot.

Why would people with vision problems have a problem with a screenshot of what they see now?