Starscream

Do you Make wine or Brew your Own?

I strongly urge participants in this thread to be 19+(canadian legal age) and discussion of distilling be avoided.

I'm curious about people who may make their own wine, beer or mead. I am a Chef, so making consumables always fascinates me.

I am a novice wine maker, I actually just started to make my own in house (after I moved) using various kits until I get a feel for the process and can move toward making my own wines from non kits (such as purchasing juice from growers)

I have made

White: Chenin Blanc (a south african style wine) (dry)

Red: Pinot Noir (dry)

Blush: White Zinfandel. (Zinfandel is usually a red)(sweet)

I plan to make a Gevurtztraminer styled wine after my beer and another batch of Pinot is done.

I bought the equipment years ago with intent to make wine, but my apartment was so small and so warm it was not easy to control the temperatures - so I mothballed the equipment

I have several large carboys (glass bottles of roughly 23L), fermentation buckets, A bottle corker, various tubes, and plastic pipes, bungs, airlocks, and cleaners. I also have a second fermentation bucket I am dedicating to the production of beer.