snowcat11

How rare is rare?

Hi everyone! I just started playing dragon cave a few days ago and was wondering just how rare are rare dragons? After looking through the wiki I fell in love with the Blusang Lindwurm, and try to check the coast area whenever I can, but I've never seen one. Any advice to finding one/how the egg caves work would be great!

Welcome to the site, then! I actually think this is a fascinating topic - I've been here for awhile and I still have yet to see a gold in the wild. I have a limited understanding of how rarities work, but nonetheless will share what I've gathered about it.

As it is mentioned in the Ecology page (on the main site under 'help') the rarity of a breed varies based on a mystical variable widely refereed to as its 'ratio'. There is a magic number of how common a breed should be, which is hidden from all but the creator of the site. If there are more dragons of a given breed, eggs of that breed will become rarer until the ratio comes back into balance.

In the biomes, rarer eggs tend to be taken more quickly than common ones, so if you look at random, you are less likely to see them. However, there are more eggs in each location than the three visible at any given time, and they shuffle every five minutes. If you come right after the biome shuffles, you are more likely to chance upon any rare eggs that might be there.

For your place as a new user, I recommend checking out The Newbie Gifting Thread and The Gifting Tree threads if you really want to get blusangs quickly. If that's not your cup of tea, good luck hunting in the coast! Blusangs are a pretty popular breed.