sfate

A Try At Spriting

Hi! So here it goes!

I started spriting around april, not that long I guess. I only work on stuff every once in awhile, because I'll spend 3 hours trying to figure out how to do something.

My Attempts!!!(In chronological order) :3

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

user posted imageuser posted image

Thank You in advanced for any help provided :3

I am not very good at drawing either so anatomy probably doesn't look so great. ^//^;

If you want to request feel free, but I may or may not get to it, I am a college student with a job so I am somewhat busy >_>;

Edited by sfate

Hi! :D I'm not the best artist in the world so I can't really provide much anatomy crits, but hopefully I can give you a tip?

All of those sprites are saved as JPEG files, which is something you really don't ever want to use. JPEGs ruin the quality of a picture and make it fuzzy and add a lot of random pixels you don't want. I always save things as .PNGs, personally. Those don't ruin the quality.

I think you could also use a bit more contrast on some of those, which means darker shadows and brighter highlights. It makes the sprite look more 3D and less flat.

Like I said, I can't really give anatomy crits, but I hope that helps? They're not that bad at all, especially since you're just starting.

Edited by Switch

:3 thanks for the reply. That I did not know. I use pixia and all of the files are pxa so i just went with jpeg so I could upload. I took a digital photo class always used jpeg xd.png

Still trying to figure out transparent backgrounds and such. I usually go and look at all of these dragons and see how others are shading. Still not used to using contrasting colors always think they're too bright or dark. ><