dr.bieber229

Animal Questions

I made this for all of you animal lovers. I too am an animal lover. So anyone have an answer to my question, I wonder. Let's see.

Q: My guinea pig is peeing blood and vomiting. It smells REALLY bad, if that helps. My mom said it's too costly to take her to a vet, and i am scared she is going to die. What should I do and what might have caused this?

Someday when any animal of yours is sick, you, alone, might be able to save it by just looking here. So please keep this going and don't let it die!

And, yes I did not see this anywhere. But, if it is there, the mods will take it down. But I need someone to answer my question badly.

Edited by dr.bieber229

your guinea pig sounds pretty poorly and i am no expert on them so I can't offer you a solution. i would suggest that although you can hope it makes a full recovery prepare yourself that it may not.

Has your poor piggy:

Been let out unsupervised?

Been near other pigs?

Been outside?

If she ate a houseplant, many are poisonous and she would definitively need a vet. If it's an illness (probably not the case) she may have contracted that from another pig. If she's been outside, she could have eaten a bad plant or feces.

I have found the shocking answer. Right when I saw this I cried

Blood in the pee, or squeaking while peeing; a serious and painful condition, a veterinarian should check your pet for a possible urinary tract infection (UTI) or problem with the bladder or kidneys. A sour smell could indicate a cyst, bladder or urinary tract infection, or stones. and still am crying.

Edited by dr.bieber229

Sorry about your guinea pig, it really sounds like she has some serious problems. If nothing else can be done, I'd try to make her as comfortable as possible-- like a shoe box lined with a towel or rags-- and give her little bits of water at a time.