Natevaelle

Habitica

Habitica is a free habit building and productivity app that treats your real life like a game. With in-game rewards and punishments to motivate you and a strong social network to inspire you, Habitica can help you achieve your goals to become healthy, hard-working, and happy.

Habitica was formerly called HabitRPG. You can access it via a browser by going to https://habitica.com/ or via the Habitica App that is available for both iOS and Android.

I love gaming. Nothing boosts my serotonin levels like gaming. For me, Habitica does a great job in motivating me to form habits and get things done. I have been using Habitica for almost two years. I started out playing on my own. Now, I have a party with seven other friends--a highschool friend, the highschool friend's brother, four former coworkers, and a former coworker's brother--and we do quests together. While other people create custom rewards (such as 15 gold for watching one episode of a television show), I aim to purchase all the possible in-game rewards, consisting of battle gears, costumes, pets, and other stuff. I enjoy dressing up my little avatar. I really have a fondness for pixel arts. It is no wonder then that I like Dragon Cave a lot too.

Do you use Habitica? happy.gif What were your experiences while using Habitica?

Edited by Natevaelle

I've used it, a couple years back. It's been pretty hit-and-miss with me, and I permanently checked my character into the inn and haven't touched it since the last year of my high school. Maybe it's because I didn't have other people doing it with me or because I'm bad at updating a tasklist.

I've always been bad at keeping track of tasks, but my current task-managing app is LifeRPG, which is similar to Habitica but without the flashy graphics. To be really honest, I keep going back to a nice, handwritten to do list.

Shouldn't this go under video games?