Starscream

Restaurant Health and Safety

Restaurant Health and Safety,

If you've worked on a line, you know what I mean.

Discuss this topic, to understand or voice experiences. However do not attack me or anyone else for my/their opinions.

My experiences in the food industry is very small at the moment but I have worked at several locations some longer, some briefer.

To explain a bit of myself.

I am a Niagara College Graduate of 2014, Culinary Management - with honours (I did my homework and handed in assignments on time, unlike in high school)

I hold a Food Handers Certificate, which is required in restaurants.

I am still learning the industry.

I want to shed some light on the darker side of the culinary industry I have been unfortunate to experience.

I shall go into a side of the topic that I thought was pretty straight forward. First in First out FIFO. Date dots, and scheduled time for being on the shelf.

The two corporate places I worked at had fairly decent standards for food handling and ordering. The first place - lets call it Turtle – tended to order too much for some of the slower stations. Maybe it was a case of not being able to order what was needed. The sad thing was, to keep it quality a large amount of the vegetable material I was dealing with had to be thrown out. But this is not too bad. They wrote the waste down in a book, weight, time, day, reason and who did it.