serce2

Meteorology

Surprisingly, I couldn't find any weather discussion thread in this forum. It's the perfect small talk topic.

So, meteorology, atmospheric science, the study of the atmosphere and all that occurs in it. What's the weather like where you're at? What's a cool or curious weather thing you've seen?

As for myself, I'm studying meteorology and am an occasional storm chaser. Linked is my photo of a dusty supercell thunderstorm chase in Western Texas earlier this year.

There was a tornado associated with this storm, but I didn't see it. The storm was sucking up too much dust, obscuring view of tornadoes, and all of the chasers that did see it clearly were in a dangerous position northeast of the tornado, right next to heavy hail.

I'm living in a city that seems to be in something I like to call a "weather hole". Whenever there are thunderstorms, hail, torrential rains or an Orkan*, then all the neighbouring town (15-20km away) experience right this, while here things are much, much less intense. I really wonder why this is the case as we aren't located in any special valley, and there are no hills or anything surround us that would explain such a thing.

Here's the weather right now at my place: https://www.wetter.de/deutschland/wetter-oberhausen-18220617.html

*) LEO gives "hurricane" or "winter storm/gale" as translation, but somehow that doesn't feel right as "Orkan" simply can be used for winds beyond 118km/h. Ah, I just noticed that the English version of the Wikipedia "Orkan" page says "European Windstorm", which makes much more sense than the LEO translation.

Edited by Astreya

We have a similar thing here as Astreya. We call it the B(town name) Bubble, because most heavier storm weather tends to break up or go around my town up here in Minnesota. It's interesting but also frustrating when we need rain and it just...skips us.