High Lord November

Cats and wildlife

For the longest time I didn't really care about cats - they were fluffy and cute, but we never had one (I was more of a bird and dog person anyway). Then my sister got a cat. As a responsible parrot owner, I read up on the dangers cats pose to parrots, and learned that cats have bacteria in their saliva, mouth, and claws that can kill any bird within 72 hours if ingested or injected via wound. Even if the bird is brought straight to the vet for antibiotics, it's still likely that the bird will die.

Notice... bird, not just parrots! Then I started learning about the effect cats had on native wildlife.

Here are some sources to get you started: 

The American Bird Conservancy has a page that goes over the basics, with the links to the studies that support the claims and the numbers. Cats are the greatest direct human-caused threat to birds.

https://abcbirds.org/program/cats-indoors/cats-and-birds/

Here is a literature survey on a variety of TNR programs. It both covers success and failure stories. They reference a total of 45 scientific studies. They conclude TNR is ineffective because of migration from sources outside the targeted colony, such as illegal dumping, and feral/stray cats that migrate from surrounding areas (due to an increase in feral colony feeding, which can support a greater cat population). Populations actually increase. It is also ineffective because of the high proportion of neutered/stray cats that need to be fixed at all times (71-94%), which means it needs to be a very intense effort over a long period of time. It is also not humane as the high number of feral cats suffer from a high rate of disease and injury, and have a short lifespan. They cite one study noticed 75% of kittens died or disappeared in managed feral colonies.

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/340388874_How_Effective_and_Humane_Is_Trap-Neuter-Release_TNR_for_Feral_Cats