x-acidic pixie stick-x

ANSWERED:Stolen art

Hello,

a local store near me has been using sprites from dragcave as their logo and on their marketing. I have told them several times they belong to this site but they continue to say it’s not my business and they like the art. How do I report them? Their arrogance towards art theft I admit has struck a cord with me, but as an artist myself I can’t just let them use stolen art.

Yeah, they are using the Reds on all of their social media sites it looks like.

Edited by Dorchet

I messaged them on facebook asking them about this .  They replied:

Hi Cathy thank you for reaching out to us. We actually have permission from the artist to use them as our logo. This was brought to our attention almost 2 years ago and so we reached out to Silvanon at that time.

Dunno if they permission from TJ though, so I'd still ask.

Even though the artist agreement wasn't there back in the day when the sprites were released, the "almost 2 years ago" has me doubt they could still use Red dragon for marketing. In the end, the agreement must have been signed much earlier, even if this has been after-thought. The Artist Agreement doesn't in the end have specific dates (at least blank version doesn't) about when the dragon has been released, just that DC owns the rights to it when it happens (or in this case, has happened). Red is more or less released, even if the agreement has been signed later. Though I have strong doubts Silvanon just giving permission to them.

Either way, I can see four things happening here personally.

1) If Silvanon never signed the Artist Agreement, technically DC doesn't own the sprite and it could be used anywhere with just Silvanon's permission. Though DC can in this outcome continue to have the Red dragon sprite or just replace it with more unique sprite.