degrasse

art; drawing

how you started out, how you learned, what kind of drawing you do (traditional, digital, cartoons, sketching, etc.)

i like to call myself an artist, but i still struggle with some aspects of drawing! such as anatomy, colouring, perspective, etc. wanted to know if any artists wanted to lend a hand and maybe explain how they got better/improved!!

It started with bad fanart when I was 11, and has only gotten better since then. biggrin.gif I love keeping really old art. It makes me nostalgic. I'm also mostly self-taught through books and online resources apart from high school art classes. The funny thing is that I took a watercoloring course when I was younger and the teacher thought I was hopeless so my parents stopped paying for lessons. Fast forward 10 years and I believe my watercolors are quite decent. XP

I do a little bit of everything, but my specialties are traditional sketches in pen and ink.

(also pssst check out my art thread in Original Works and I'll be looking forward to when and if you make your own OW thread!)

Edit for book recommendations:

For human anatomy: Any of the books on this list are awesome. I own Bridgeman's Life Drawing, Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist, and Figure Drawing for All It's Worth. They're all really good, imo.

For perspective: An odd choice, but Perspective For Comic Book Artists by David Chelsea was really helpful! Reading a classic such as Alberti's On Painting is also super helpful in understanding perspective, even if the language is a bit dense.

Basically -- Study, practice, repeat. It's okay to trace an image to figure out how something works and where all the bits go, and it's okay to fill an entire page with knees or some other body part.

Currently I'm learning how to do backgrounds and cityscapes!

Edited by TehUltimateMage