Cheeze

General Nostalgia Thread

Sometimes you've just got to take some time to remember some of the great things from your past- music, shows, movies, games, foods, friends, experiences, etc.

In general, I'd say try to abstain from those "Only 90's kids will understand" kinds of things. Every generation has cartoons, snacks, etc. that all have their own nostalgic value to someone who grew up with them. It's one thing to say you miss the old stuff, because you can remember it with a childlike innocence and wonder, but don't be that guy saying "They just don't make good ___ anymore." It's all a matter of preference.

I've been playing DragonCave for over 8 years. I joined from the Onslaught forums, which no longer exist unfortunately. I remember refreshing the DC homepage and seeing the Forum link suddenly appear. Since day 1 I've been a member of the forums, and at the height of it all I had the highest post count and was a global moderator. This was the first big online community I was ever a part of, and I haven't really had a similar experience since then. For a while I was active on the Wildshadow forums for Realm of the Mad God, but the game changed hands, and got monetized and the Wildshadow forums got nuked too. I remember searching through pages of Final Fantasy sprite sheets to find cool looking dragons to suggest for the site back before the overhaul to original art only. I remember playing through Act Raiser on the SNES and getting to the final boss and thinking "Wow! That's the original gold dragon!" I remember immature attempts at trolling the irc and getting kicked and banned constantly rolleyes.gif . I posted a lot of ignorant opinions in debate threads, some of which are still archived unfortunately unsure.gif. But I really miss the days of posting regularly, checking for updates on the threads I was a part of, and just the feeling of having a role to fill in a group. Hard to believe I was 12 when I started playing the game. A hell of a lot has cha