angelicdragonpuppy

Require Signing of Artist Agreement

I've been working in dragon requests for quite a few years now, and while this has been awesome, it's also led to some unforeseen difficulties. Namely: certain spriters who were involved in the process going inactive between completion and now, obviously negating their ability to sign the artist's agreement and enable the concept to be released if TJ ever shows interest in it.

In order to prevent such cases, can DR start requiring people to collect the artist's agreement forms of anyone who does work that'll be included in the final sprites? I was originally thinking of just lumping them all in one post within the thread, but since that could open the doors to deceit or just revealing private information, maybe mods and TJ could set up a new forum account or email where they could be sent to instead. That way they'll be around when needed, but TJ won't get buried in agreement forms for things he might never use, either.

If people change their minds about agreeing they can cancel said agreement any time before the sprite is actually released, as per usual. The suggestion of this thread isn't to trap artists, it's to keep those who are presumably interested in submitting stuff to DC (due to their working on the projects to begin with) from unintentionally foiling themselves and their co-artists due to vanishing before the form is signed. I know if this had been in place from the start, I'd be a lot less worried about some of my old concepts than I am now. >___<

Edited by angelicdragonpuppy

I support this suggestion, I've thought about it, too. I think it makes future DC art more "secure", too. It should prevents amazing sprites to disappear wink.gif

Certainly makes sense to me!

If (worst case scenario, obviously,) anything awful happened to the artist, surely they'd like to think that their work would live on and not be wasted.