jumpsnake

Random Releases Returning- suggestions

So, in this month's release we were informed that the monthly releases are going away, to be replaced with.... something else. From what TJ said in the first post, it sounds like they will be random again.

When I started playing DC the releases were random, so I remember what that was like. They were also spaced much farther apart than they are now. It was my understanding that one of the reasons to have monthly releases was to really get the new dragons coming out, so there was not such a huge backlog, and to keep people interested in the game because there would be new dragons fairly frequently.

My suggestion to TJ is this: There are a lot of people who play this game who are working adults and full-time students. To us, having some idea of when the new release is coming would be a HUGE help. It doesn't have to be a big announcement, but some sort of hint or timetable would go a long way towards keeping my interest in the game going. One of my biggest frustrations with the game comes when there is a new rare release and I completely miss it.

Alternately: Back when the releases were random the new drops lasted for a LONG time. Like, several days. People would complain because there was such a flood of new eggs. If we can't get any advance warning, then please reinstate the 3 day new egg flood so those people who are late to the party still have a reasonable chance of getting the new eggs near the release date.

I worry that this change in policy will serve to punish those players who have an active and busy life outside of DC. This is a shame because one of wonderful things about DC is that you can play it well AND have a real life outside of DC!! In fact, that is why I play DC and virtually no other online game.