DarkEternity

The ability to trade names?

Opinions? smile.gif

EDIT: My idea is mostly just based on the ability to trade named hatchlings.

Edited by DarkEternity

How would this even work? It's decently simple to do unofficially. You meet in the IRC and use the PM system to coordinate. The one renames theirs to free up the name while the other takes the name. It is extremely unlikely that someone else would snatch it, especially if nobody else knows about the transfer.

The thing is, I always feel that name trading is a little risky, particularly if you are trading things like CB metals and the name is something that is quite common. That plus the difficulty meeting up if you are in different timezones ^^;;

The name trades don't really last THAT long though, do they? I haven't done any so I'm no expert obviously, but it doesn't seem like something that would be implemented because within that short time span, what is the possibility that someone is going to choose your name right then and there? Has it ever happened to anyone?

It reminds me of trading without teleports... you would have to get the egg's code, and then go to /abandoned/eggcode here and then refresh like mad and hoped someone in the AP wasn't faster than your refresh.

I haven't done any nametrades, but I have had names disappear in less than ten seconds after scroll wipes.

e.g.

1. I realise a name might be free

2. I realise that it is free.

3. I go to get the name

In the time between 2 - 3 I've had names snatched quite quickly so I am a little afraid of even attempting a name trade. (by, you know, other naming enthusiasts) I suggest that we are able to trade named hatchlings.

Edited by DarkEternity