Moonbeam22

Help me improve my drawing technique?

I have been an avid artist (hobbyist of course) since the age of seven. It is my passion and my goal to become as skilled as I can. So, I was wondering if you guys could help me out a bit. I am seeking critique, advice, and opinions on my work. I am looking for imputs of people with a wide range of artistic ability as well. I use only a regular lead pencil for all my work, and my fingers and cosmetic makeup wedges for smudging and shading. Thank you very much for taking your time to help me. (:

Here are some examples of my work:

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

Looks like you've drawn a few things from life, like that flower and the shoe. That's a great start--drawing from life and using photo references is a great way to develop an eye for detail and light. Keep doing that and try to capture as much detail as you can! If you don't know how to draw something, don't make a guess at it--find a real photo you can use as a reference, or draw the actual subject! If you have a dog, then sit down and draw your dog! (This is easiest to do when they're sitting still, haha)

My biggest advice to you is to study your fundamentals: drawing shapes, applying color and shading values to make an object appear solid instead of two dimensional. Study lighting, proportions, perspective, and anatomy. Learning the basics is a must if you want to build a solid foundation for your artwork. Take classes if you can, and practice every day.

One of the best things you can do to improve is gesture drawing. Gesture drawing focuses on capturing the movement of the subject and helps your drawings really come to life.

Here are a couple of references to use:

http://www.pixelovely.com/gesture/index.php