TheGrox

Dragon Caveology

Dragon Caveology

So, what the hell is this thread about? Well, in a nutshell, it is a guide on how to get better at DragCave.

And, who the hell am I to be telling you all this? Well, I may not be a member with a 10-page scroll, but, since starting playing DragCave a few years ago, I have learnt a lot, and I wish someone had told me all this when I was a newbie.

Is this thread just for newbies? Well, I have targeted it primarily at newbies, but it wouldn't hurt for all you oldies to refresh your memories too.

So, How can I be a better DragCaver?

1. First and foremost use the forums! When I first joined, I just caught eggs, raised, and repeated. Granted, trading (as we know it now) didn't exist back then, but once I discovered the benefits of the forums, I never looked back.

2. Trade, Trade, Trade! It will take you an age to catch that special Purple Dino to complete your collection. Every Dino you catch will have to be abandoned because it will be the wrong colour. But what if that fourth Red Dino you've just caught is the one thing someone else needs to complete their Dino collection. And by sheer luck, they've just caught their fourth Purple Dino. Bingo! Set up a trade! Both players get what they want in half the time.

3. Generally, low-gen staircases, Thuweds, Dorkfaces and 2nd gen purebred rares are particularly valuable. If you can't trade something as an egg, hatch it and try again. Most people find hatchlings much more appealing, because they don't take up eggslots and don't take as long to grow up. Also, ER eggs and hatchlings are much more appealing, because they usually result in an instant hatchling/adult upon trading.