Pages: (4) 1 2 [3] 4  ( Go to first unread post )
Add Reply
New Topic

 Are you sure? Breeding., For those really horrible misclicks.
angelicdragonpuppy
Posted: Apr 13 2012, 09:40 PM


FOR THE GLORY OF NOHR!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,714
Member No.: 7,560
Joined: 22-July 08



 
QUOTE (saffy2yrs @ Apr 13 2012, 09:31 PM)
Why not just name the dragons? I have whatever their name is with CB after it, or 2G or 3G, then I know if I am breeding this CB, I can choose another CB, or continue a stair or whatever...if you don't want CB in your names, do complementary names or words or something.

I absolutely hate having to put markers in the names themselves, or having to stuff even just an extra "complementary" name or whatever on to the end. I find simple, majestic names a lot nicer than ones with a lot of clutter in them, whether they be my own dragons or ones I'm trading for. Nothing ruins a sick name like "Marrow" or "Silimander" or whatever the case may be like having someone tack on a goofy CB tag behind it. :'c

saffy2yrs
Posted: Apr 13 2012, 10:00 PM


Level 5
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 450
Member No.: 28,990
Joined: 27-January 09



 
QUOTE (angelicdragonpuppy @ Apr 13 2012, 06:40 PM)
or having to stuff even just an extra "complementary" name or whatever on to the end.

I was thinking more like naming one salt, and one pepper, or anything that goes well in pairs. Left and right, Anti and social, so on and so forth.
BlazingPhoenix
Posted: Apr 14 2012, 12:17 AM


Level 7
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 931
Member No.: 188,909
Joined: 20-March 12



 
Please add this! I misclick stuff all the time, I don't want it happening for breeding!

This post has been edited by BlazingPhoenix on Apr 14 2012, 12:17 AM
Snowytoshi
Posted: Apr 14 2012, 05:33 AM


IOUs Accepted and Encouraged
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 2,294
Member No.: 185,593
Joined: 28-January 12



 
QUOTE (Sorrowgrave @ Apr 13 2012, 09:42 PM)
dido on the if it's default off.

I only check my scroll once a week for GoN tries (this one worked woo!)
And snagging pygmies (neglected to grab any when they released)

The time for a misbreed doesn't do much.

and if it bothers you THAT much,
just hide it until it dies. Do a custom sort order that places the egg at the very back of your scroll and forget about it.

It's not the egg that bothers me, I can abandon it if I don't want it. The part that annoys me is having finally found the perfect mate, finished the cool-down from last week, and then clicking on a 4G geode instead of the 2G golden wvyren. And if you don't want to enter your password in, what if it was like the description rating pop-up? A little bubble pops up you click yes or no and you're done. It might not be as effective as the password, but it may be a good middle-ground.

EDIT: Typos much?

This post has been edited by Snowytoshi on Apr 14 2012, 05:35 AM
perzephone
Posted: Apr 14 2012, 08:24 PM


Level 6
******

Group: Members
Posts: 707
Member No.: 9,588
Joined: 9-August 08



 
Yes, I am one of the anti-nanny-state folks.

The only way I support yet more confirmation pop-ups is if I have the option of turning it off.

I'd love to have the option of turning off ALL the confirmations - entering passwords, retyping action names, incessant click this, click that.

It's one of the most annoying thing about Windows (especially when you've got the option to restore things from your Recycle Bin) and programs that take after Windows.
Lythiaren
Posted: Apr 15 2012, 03:57 AM


Has a magical hand that SHOOTS BEES.
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,388
Member No.: 2,756
Joined: 5-February 08



 
QUOTE (olympe @ Apr 12 2012, 02:30 PM)
How about this as a compromise: When choosing a dragon as a mate for your breeding attempt, you have two options now: breed and preview progeny lineage. If you choose preview progeny lineage, you can then either choose to proceed with breeding or to choose a different mate or - if TJ is so inclined to code it, to abort breeding.


This would not give you any warning about inbreeding unless you check for it manually - which, in many cases, will be easy to spot as you'd be about to breed closely related dragons or dragons that are inbred in the first place. (It's obviously your own responsibility to somehow mark your inbreds, or know their names by heart or whatever.) It would also help with accidentally clicking the terribly inbred 25th gen black instead of the CB black you wanted to mate your (holiday?) dragon to. However, it does not imply that inbreeding is wrong. If you want to create a beautiful inbred lineage, and you use the preview feature, you'll just see your beautiful inbred lineage as some sort of confirmation that you got the correct mate.

^ This is a good suggestion.


I very strongly disagree on the thread suggestion, however. This amount of padding and precautionary hubbub is not only unnecessary but also extremely cumbersome and adds bandwidth to one of the most-used functions of the entire game. No, I don't even want the option to turn it on and off. I don't want it period. Too many on/off switches is itself a major problem. It leads to decision fatigue, which is Very Bad. Too much choice and people tend to go NOPE and leave everything on default. And then they have trouble finding the option to turn off something they run into later that they happen to hate, because the settings screen is a wall of text.

If you breed the wrong pair by mistake and they pop an unwanted egg, kill it and take your 24-hour penalty, 7-day cooldowns and fortnight of shell shame like a responsible adult. You made the mistake. You have to take the consequences. This isn't like when we had multiclutches and a misclick could have netted you something you couldn't even negate by killing.

Honestly if I was the admin I wouldn't have implemented confirmation screens at all. Users are people capable of independent thought, they don't need to have their hands held like sheltered infants. When it comes to games there's nothing I hate more than having the game itself treat me like I'm stupid.

I hate excessive handholding more than I hate Zubats.

This post has been edited by Lythiaren on Apr 15 2012, 06:07 AM
Fengari
Posted: Apr 15 2012, 02:32 PM


Level 7
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 902
Member No.: 68,256
Joined: 21-November 10



 
I'm also not a fan of having to confirm every action. I find that if I have to confirm a lot, confirming itself becomes an automatic action, which means it's worth nothing because if I misclicked I will most likely confirm anyway because it's not something I think about anymore.

I do like Olympe's suggestion, though. By having the two options there it means people who don't want extra clicks can still perform the action just like they used to and people who feel the need for some confirmation can go to the preview first to make sure if what they are going to do is actually what they intended to do, with the added bonus of being a nice tool to look at what the offspring's lineage is going to look like (for whatever reason).
TaiomiFox
Posted: Apr 15 2012, 02:37 PM


Level 5
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 400
Member No.: 77,581
Joined: 4-May 11



 
Absolute no.
Keeping track and monitoring your dragons' family trees is part of the game, and making it "easier" is just ruining the game ._.
No, no no no, NO, no no, NO NO NO.
No.
Anquatic
Posted: Apr 15 2012, 04:37 PM


Level 5
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 581
Member No.: 44,021
Joined: 16-July 09



Yes, please. It would be helpful. xd.png
Aurora-Silver
Posted: Apr 16 2012, 08:07 AM


Level 9
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,878
Member No.: 63,965
Joined: 2-August 10



 
I'm actually glad that breeding does NOT have to be verified by password. I find it annoying to type always your password in.

No for me.
olympe
Posted: Apr 16 2012, 08:56 AM


happy collector of bright pink and frilled dragons
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,119
Member No.: 49,835
Joined: 28-October 09



 
What about my alternate suggestion, that you can either hit "breed" or "lineage preview"? It doesn't change anything for you if you simply hit breed, but you can opt in to get a lineage preview on a case by case basis.
Akrona
Posted: Apr 16 2012, 09:07 AM


Level 9
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,679
Member No.: 4,664
Joined: 16-May 08



 
QUOTE (olympe @ Apr 16 2012, 08:56 AM)
What about my alternate suggestion, that you can either hit "breed" or "lineage preview"? It doesn't change anything for you if you simply hit breed, but you can opt in to get a lineage preview on a case by case basis.

i like this suggestion a lot, personally
arlymaye
Posted: Apr 16 2012, 09:21 AM


CATNIP - The LEGAL High! I take CATNIP I.O.U =^.^=
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 9,417
Member No.: 16,528
Joined: 1-October 08



QUOTE (olympe @ Apr 16 2012, 09:56 AM)
What about my alternate suggestion, that you can either hit "breed" or "lineage preview"? It doesn't change anything for you if you simply hit breed, but you can opt in to get a lineage preview on a case by case basis.

+100000000

Lineage preview is an awesome suggestion and I would support this wholeheartedly. Even a seasoned veteran like me sometimes mistakenly bred the wrong dragon. I just did infact, bred a pretty stairstep silver to an evengen mate. sad.gif Worse, I got a silver. LOL.. No matter how careful one is, mishaps happens so a lineage preview would be godsend. A very much needed addition to this site.

As for the turn on/off breed option, I would rather not have to deal with more prompts and I would hit myself if I bred wrongly and said *Now, why didn't I turn on that damn yes/no breed action!!* See, guilt breeds more guilt!
fuzzbucket
Posted: Apr 16 2012, 11:07 AM


Last time I looked, I wasn't here.
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 18,755
Member No.: 55,386
Joined: 10-February 10



QUOTE (olympe @ Apr 16 2012, 01:56 PM)
What about my alternate suggestion, that you can either hit "breed" or "lineage preview"? It doesn't change anything for you if you simply hit breed, but you can opt in to get a lineage preview on a case by case basis.

Excellent compromise smile.gif

For people like me, it would immediately say "Oops, you hit breed when you meant to hit name..." xd.png
SockPuppet Strangler
Posted: Apr 16 2012, 12:29 PM


Wednesday has been canceled due to a scheduling potato.
***********

Group: Global Moderators
Posts: 38,463
Member No.: 7,406
Joined: 19-July 08



 
blockEdragon
Posted: Sep 4 2015, 07:03 PM


Level 7
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 964
Member No.: 218,656
Joined: 4-May 15



 
YES PLEASE
also for biomes please :)
VixenDra
Posted: Sep 4 2015, 07:15 PM


Level 6
******

Group: Members
Posts: 733
Member No.: 216,820
Joined: 6-February 15



 
QUOTE (SockPuppet Strangler @ Apr 12 2012, 07:37 PM)

Confirmations are also really to stop other people from doing things with your dragons that you don't want them to. I don't think a confirmation will really make people double check that they're not misbreeding. Maybe the first few times it might, but probably not after that.

you mean other people(like sb in your house wandering around and messing up with your DC game), right?
Actually I dont' want anyone to breed my dragons as well, and to ruin their monogamy I'm so strict about. I'm also fearing my own missclick everytime I breed... That the coursor jumps or that I may click the wrong dragon.

I beleve password secured breeding should be there but optional. Everyone to their needs:)



Lineage preview would also be nice, apart of that.

This post has been edited by VixenDra on Sep 4 2015, 07:16 PM
CNR4806
Posted: Sep 5 2015, 02:20 PM


Level 8
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,285
Member No.: 23,556
Joined: 30-November 08



As long as it's entirely optional, I don't see any problem with this.

I'll give a flat NO if having it forced across all users is the only way to implement it.
ParticleSoup
Posted: Sep 5 2015, 02:28 PM


I gave those particles mass. Particles love mass.
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,532
Member No.: 47,898
Joined: 15-September 09



 
QUOTE (blockEdragon @ Sep 4 2015, 07:03 PM)
also for biomes please smile.gif

I have no idea what you mean by this. Please elaborate? :U



Also, I'd have to say no to this too, unless it was optional.
cyradis4
Posted: Sep 5 2015, 02:39 PM


The best laid schemes of Mice an' Men can go astray
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 3,672
Member No.: 41,236
Joined: 30-May 09



QUOTE (olympe @ Apr 16 2012, 09:56 AM)
What about my alternate suggestion, that you can either hit "breed" or "lineage preview"? It doesn't change anything for you if you simply hit breed, but you can opt in to get a lineage preview on a case by case basis.

This compromise would be nice, for the reasons stated by others.

The OP's suggestion I would be against, also for reasons already stated by others. smile.gif

Cheers!
C4.
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options
Pages: (4) 1 2 [3] 4 
Add Reply
New Topic