coo_

Fellow birdwatchers?

*This is my first time making a topic, so I apologize if there's already a topic for this (I ran a search and didn't find anything).

So, I suppose it's stereotypically a bit nerdy, but I'm a pretty avid birder. I was wondering if anyone else on here is one as well, or even casually?

I'm not technically a lister, but I keep a mental list in my head of the birds I've seen/haven't seen.

If you're a birder or enjoy watching birds - what sorts of behaviors have you observed? Do you keep a list? What's your favorite bird? What are the birds you want to see?

Any other discussion of birds is welcome here! ^.^

I love looking for birds!

I've never been a formal birdwatcher, and living in a very gentrified (read: not a lot of places for birds to eat at) suburb doesn't help, but I set out bird feeders out in the winter or throw out some extra parakeet seed mix. My favorite visitors have to be northern cardinals, especially female ones, even though everyone says they're drab. I find their accents of red very nice against the brown feathers and the snow.

This winter, I've been looking for two families of crows (or maybe it's one- they never seem to be both present at the same time) every time I walk home from school. Left out some peanuts, but I doubt they got any ):

In springtime, I always see hordes of American Robins harpooning worms. They don't get scared off easily, so I take a few minutes out of my day to watch. So busy!

Last summer, a pair of mourning doves nested by my house and now I see them everywhere. While rock doves are my favorite (and they don't live here rip), mourning doves are high up on that list ^^

Edited by serce2